

## Please direct inquiries to:

Dr. Elliott Moeser, Executive Director

Phone: (262) 243-4213

Email: Elliott.Moeser@cuw.edu

For immediate release: June 10, 2020

## Statement from Closing the Achievement Gap Consortium Leaders

The Closing Achievement Gap Consortium (CAGC) has a mission to eliminate the educational disparities in all schools with all deliberate speed. The CAGC's 36 public, private and parochial school districts recognize that the current state of racial injustices significantly impacts education today. Our schools should be learning environments where all students can grow and flourish. Unfortunately, this is not the case for many of our students of color. Policies, practices and procedures in our schools need to be changed. Our students of color, in each district, deserve better and we are committed to facilitating this change.

Racial injustices have no place in schools as well as in our state and nation. Racism is a public health crisis and the CAGC members stand against racism in any form. History has shown us repeatedly that we cannot be silent when injustices are prevalent. The CAGC stands with organizations that denounce the systematic oppression of racism and racial prejudices. The CAGC is committed to the educational responsibility to promote policies that support this belief in our schools.

George Floyd's death and other senseless murders of African Americans have become catalysts for a significant change in our nation. We must promote this change together. In doing so, we will be the change we all want to see in the world. It is with action that educational equity can be achieved. Our actions should be in direct response to the voices of the historically marginalized. The CAGC members are committed to this change and will continue to live out our mission through our actions.

## CLOSING THE ACHIEVEMENT GAP CONSORTIUM EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Dr. Sue Savaglio-Jarvis, President Superintendent of Schools Kenosha Unified School District

Dr. Phil Ertl, Past President Superintendent of Schools Waywatosa School District

Dan Thielen, Assistant Treasurer Chief of Schools Racine Unified School District Dr. Matthew Joynt, President-Elect Superintendent of Schools Mequon-Thiensville School District

Edward DeShazer, Treasurer Executive Director Greater Holy Temple Christian Academy

Dr. Elliott Moeser, Executive Director *Concordia University Wisconsin* 

Willie E. Garrison II, M.Ed., Funding and Grants Coordinator Supervisor for Equity and Student Services Wauwatosa School District